It’s The Little Things

I love Birthdays and I love spoiling people on their birthday, especially my family. It may not be monetary spoiling, but I do try make them feel special. I remember an ex of mine actually got highly irritated with me on his birthday because I was making such a big deal of it – in hind sight maybe I should have taken that as a sign that it was never going to last forever.

A few years ago, I missed a birthday. I was medically sedated and skipped an entire day, maybe a few more. A couple of years later my (late) Grandfather’s ashes were put in the wall of remembrance on my birthday and that was when I pretty much wrote my birthday off, it became just an ordinary day for me and because of that I make a BIG deal about Ladybug’s birthday.

Recently Ladybug has started playing imaginary games with me. Her latest one is where she is Mommy and I am Ladybug. She wakes me up in the morning by touching my face, stroking it softly and then as soon as I open my eyes she tells me there are surprises for me on the side table and get excited about it. This is exactly what I did on her birthday!!! We then open imaginary presents and oooo and aaah over them. I say thank you and she gives me a big hug and kiss and says “you welcome my darling”.

What Ladybug doesn’t realise is that every single time we play this game my heart swells up. She remembered what I did on her Birthday and it was special to her.  It’s the little things like that that make the Threenager Year worth it.

image

3 thoughts on “It’s The Little Things

  1. Jodie says:

    We’re at exactly the same phase…so so cute. Early in the evening, I had to close my eyes while my mister laid out his khokis in a pattern and then when I opened them – he shouted that it’s my birthday and gave me kisses, then I had to blow out the candles. I also got read a story last night, tucked into bed, prayers and hugs and kisses, just the same way that I do it at night 🙂 So special!

Leave a comment here

