Day 1: What is your Current Relationship?

I’m single, have been for well over a year now.  I was in a (let me be polite because he still stalks this blog) disastrous relationship from October 2012 till April 2013, before that I was in a relationship with an amazing person for about 5 months. Unfortunately sports commitments and my lack of patience dealt us a raw deal – before that was Ladybug’s Father.

I think in the last 6 years I have been in a relationship for maybe an accumulative 18 months, so its safe to say that I’ve been single more than I have been a +1.  Ive had long term relationships, Ive had partners that I have lived with, spoken about getting old with, spoken about marriage with, but we’ve never quite got there.

Being single is hard work at first; you need to learn its ok to be single.  That its ok to go to the movies alone (that’s a big one for me and I still can’t get it right).  You need to learn that you can do things without a +1 and if there is an event or a function a friend is more than willing to stand in as a +1.  Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t mind a +1 to share life with, to share the misadventures and adventures with (other than Ladybug).  Adult conversation at home would simply rock, but I’m not about to just settle for any +1, especially after the disaster.

I could go into a million reasons why its better to be single that to be in the type of relationship I was in, but then Im going to sound like THAT person, you know the ones… the old crazy cat lady who is so bitter and twisted that its no wonder she is alone.  Im not at that point (yet).  I still believe there is a knight in shining armour, or batted tinfoil, that was made for me and we just haven’t found each other yet.

240

Yes, I do love being single, but I do miss being a +1 sometimes!

xoxo

One thought on “Day 1: What is your Current Relationship?

Leave a comment here

