P is for Pregnancy Prepares You

When you pregnant, you generally have about 7 – 8 months to get used to the idea of being a parent. During this time, you prepare for the arrival of your little bundle of joy. You buy the furniture, you buy clothes, nappies, do the decorating and all those physical preparations, but I’ve since come to learn that being pregnant prepares you for future life too.

Take for example morning sickness. It teaches you to control the urge to vom at any given moment, this comes in handy when changing really really ripe nappies. It also comes in handy when cleaning up oodles and oodles of your child’s puke… By the end of your pregnancy you a pro at holding back the waves of nausea and battling the urge to vom!

The pregnancy waddle, this prepares you for the pace you will be walking for the rest of eternity… 25 months post pregnancy and I don’t think I’ve been able to get back up to my pre-pregnancy pace, especially when Ladybug is in tow!

In the last stretch of your pregnancy you acquire the knowledge of the location of every single toilet in every single shopping centre due to your non-existent bladder… This knowledge comes in handy when your Toddler is potty trained.

The phrase I dread when we in a shopping centre is “Mommy wee wee”, those magic words send cold shivers down my spine and I dig in the my pregnancy memory banks for the location of the nearest toilet!

I’m sure there are more lessons I will use that I learnt during my pregnancy in the years to come!

xoxo

One thought on “P is for Pregnancy Prepares You

Leave a comment here

