Im not THAT person anymore

I knew life would change the moment I became a Mom, but I don’t think I realised just how much it would. I look back on the last 2 ½ years and wow I don’t even recognise the person was then, and I don’t know that I like the person I was then compared to the person I am now. I was carefree back then, ready for a night out with friends which often involved tequila, gold, silver and then came Ponchos – oh my soul! It involved chatting until the birds started tweeting, getting dressed after snuggling into my PJs for the night and joining a friend in Melville. It involved dinners out at quaint restaurants, trying the off the beaten track places. Im not saying I was a party animal, lunatic or alcoholic, but I thought I was happy then. I loved my life and I figured it couldn’t get any better!

Then I had Ladybug.

Now my afternoons are filled with teaching, drawing, playing, laughing, giggling, running, jumping and being a kid Mom. My evenings are filled with tears, smiles, screaming matches, food fights, naughty corners, kisses, cuddles and breathless moments. My weekends are filled with play dates and adventures, exploring and learning. When I think back at the day before I think it was epic, my eyes well up (mostly with pride) when I think of the things Ladybug has done and I wake up in the morning ready for the day of untold secrets. I count down the minutes until home time, not because I want to get out of the office, but because I get to see Ladybug. It really is the highlight of my day.

I can honestly say that I have never been this happy in my life, which is saying something because things are really up to shyte aren’t that awesome at the moment, but inside I am happy. I have a group of (new) friends which is growing on me, some of them are crazy, others insane, some have been around for a while in my social circle but I am now getting to know them, some are completely random but they pretty amazing. We all have one thing in common; we all have little angels terrors sproglets. Doing things like going to the Zoo, a park or feeding the ducks are now acceptable social activities, the kids get to play the adults get to talk, often in code, but it’s a happy medium for all.

I can no longer tell you what the in places are to go, or the “to be seen at” restaurants, but I can tell you the places that have indoor play areas, child minders, places that are sproglet friendly, places that are fun and educational. I can tell you what is happening in 90% of the Disney or Pixar movies, I can almost recite the TV line-up from 16h00– 17h00 on Disney Junior, I can tell you what crayons work, what paints are best and I can even tell you how to make play dough. I can tell you what nappies are on special and where, what kid’s clothes last and what don’t, what shoes are good and what aren’t. But I wouldn’t change any of that for the world.

Im not the perfect Mom, Im human, I shout, I moan, I long for sprogletless days, I long for perky boobs, a flat tummy, the ability to have more than one shot of tequila and not have a hangover…. But I long for them, doesn’t mean I want them back! Last night I got my payback, my thank you.

I lay next to Ladybug as she was going to sleep and she took my arm, wrapped it round her waist and made me hug her until she fell asleep. Its moments like that that make you realise it is all worth it, every single minute of it. I have changed yes, I know I have, but this is me, this is who I am. I am not going to be the person I was, I love the person I am now. I love being a Mom!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Im not THAT person anymore

  1. Marija jerkovic says:

    Brilliant!!! thats what it is all about, that little moment especially when you get notes saying i love you very much mom. hehehehhe. You are doing awesome!!

Leave a comment here

