Airing Dirty Laundry

I believe there is a time and a place for everything, that things are sent to test us and make us stronger. This is so true of this week… it’s been a rough week and one I don’t particularly intend on repeating any time in the distant future. I also believe that there is a time and place to air your dirty laundry, but when your laundry is covered in puke or wee, how can you possibly air it? Sies!

I am by no means a domestic goddess, I believe in job creation, but unfortunately Im the maid too in our house, Im also Madame’s general Slave and Bottle Washer.

1

This past week I have done more washing than I care to remember. Thursday night, the coldest night in Johannesburg this year, and possibly in my life time, Ladybug decided that it was a good time to start throwing up. She had thrown up in the lounge and then, bless her socks, she threw up on my bed. This was followed by a instinctive moan (me moaning at her) and tears (from her side), followed by me doing 2 loads of washing on Thursday night. I have a feather duvet, so there was no leaving that till morning, and somehow she managed to wet my sheet, the duvet under the sheet and the duvet cover…. My entire bedding had to go into the wash. Friday it rained, Friday night it rained, Saturday was ice cold…. Cold plus rain don’t go down too well when you trying to dry your bedding.

(Fortunately Ladybug’s first Molar cut through on Sunday which has put an end to the throwing up! )

For some reason, we are back to going through 3 or 4 sets of clothing a day with Ladybug and being winter it doesnt help because the sets of clothing are not just a dress or a onesie, it’s a onesie vest, t-shirt, pants and jersey. She has been waking up sopping wet in the early hours of the morning which means a change of babygrow, and her bedding, which means more washing! My domestic nightmares continue on a daily basis and there seems to be no end in sight!

Please summer come back, all is forgiven! I want fewer items to wash and washing that dries in half an hour!!!

20130311-194230.jpg

One thought on “Airing Dirty Laundry

Leave a comment here

