Absence makes the what?

The saying is “Absence makes the heart grow fonder”, I don’t believe it for one moment when it comes to Ladybug. The more time I spend with her the more time I want to spend with her. This weekend, I spent the whole weekend with her, not out with someone else, just me and her and it was awesome. I got to see her reach milestones that were amazing, I got to see the things Ive been teaching her come into her daily routine. I got to see the little changes in my Madame.

Just some of the things I got to be a part of this weekend:
• She does “Indian Sounds” with her hands and doesn’t need Mommy to make the aaaaaaa aaaaaaa aaaaaaa sounds.

• She pulls herself up onto almost everything now. At first it was just the side of the bath, now it’s the cot, the cabinet to get closer to the action on TV, EVERYTHING.

• She joined us for breakfast at the big peoples table, in her own chair, with her own big peoples food and didn’t upchuck (our table manners are improving)

• She drinks the bath water while laying on her tummy playing (and doesn’t choke or half drown), now I must teach her to blow bubbles in it instead of drinking it.

• She has started reading me stories when we read a book , most of the time I have no cooking clue what she is talking about, but hey it’s an interesting story.

• She now leans toward someone she wants to go to when she’s in my arms, and doesn’t wait for them to ask her if she wants to come.

• And the biggest thing I got to be part of this weekend was C-R-A-W-L-I-N-G. Madame started by Leopard crawling on Friday, and by Sunday she was doing the whole push up onto the knees and go flat again stint. Any second now she is going to be up and on her way properly, but I got to be part of beginning stages.

But my best part of the weekend though, wasn’t the milestones she reached in becoming less blobbish and more human. It was the love; the given and asked for kisses. It happened a couple of times during the course of the weekend, but my favourite one was on Saturday morning, while playing with her toys and sitting on my lap, she looked back at me, went back to her toys, then looked back at me again and opened her mouth for a kiss. Once I gave her a kiss, she went back to playing with her toys and telling them stories.

How can I ever think of being away from Ladybug, and being “absent” from her more than I possibly have to be. Absence doesn’t make the heart grow fonder; being with her constantly makes my heart grow fonder. I can’t wait for the 3 days weekend; I get to spend a whole extra day with her and when I told her last night that Mommy could spend a whole extra day with her this coming weekend, she giggled and kissed me. She knows and understands!

Leave a comment here

