366+ Days Ago

About a year ago, my life changed, but I didn’t know it, well not yet anyways. My Little Ladybug picked me to be her Mom, heaven knows what she was thinking, but she chose me! She only let me know a few weeks down the line that she had chosen me. I would have to wait a very long 42 ½ weeks before I met her, but I did love her instantly although I tried not to.

A year ago, I would not have believed you if you told me a few things and these are them:

  • You would give up chocolate for 8 months – as a result Ladybug will NEVER taste chocolate, she made me suffer for 8 months, I can make her suffer her whole lifetime!
  • Your Polo and Guess Handbag will have Nappies in them – I still argued with one of my friends about this, but guess what E, I have had nappies in them.
  • You can give up on going movies for at least 2 years – The last movie I went to watch was Harry Potter and even then I had to sit at the back in the isle because my sieve bladder wouldn’t hold up for the whole movie.
  • You need 2 people or more to raise a child – I thought I was Super Mom and I was going to do this on my own 100%, but have you ever tried to use a hair straighter, put on make-up and feed a baby at the same time? Sometimes an extra pair of hands helps, even if it is to stop Madame from getting blusher put on her in all the wrong places.
  • You will drive like a Granny and obey the speed limit – I always thought it was a guideline, now I can’t believe the LUNATIC that’s speeds past me going 62km/h in a 60km/h zone, doesn’t he know Im carrying precious cargo!
  • You will discuss poo openly in public – Well I never thought the day would come, but it happens, I kid you not! Being a Mom gives you licence to do that kind of thing.
  • You will no longer be Cassie, you will be Ladybug’s Mommy or simply Mommy – Im not 100% sure if Madame’s teacher even knows my name, I am simply Mommy or Ladybug’s Mommy.
  • You won’t want to go out, you will want to stay at home – How true that is, even when I do escape Mommy duty once a month, I can’t wait to get home and be a Mom again, even if it means dealing with a Ladybug who is excited to see me at 00h45 and decides to play until 03h30 (which is what happened on Saturday night). I don’t mind it, not one bit.
  • You will be considered a Mommy Blogger and make it to the top 10 finalists for SA Mommy Blogger of the Year – I’m still blown away, this blog is just my ramblings, my way of seeing Mommyhood and a way to entertain my family who are spread all over the world.

In one short year my life has changed, and changed not for the better, but for the best!

One thought on “366+ Days Ago

Leave a comment here

